On Space Harmony, Indian dance, Silvestre technique and Sacret Geometry

Colleena Shakti… What an incredibly inspiring woman! I love listening to her stories about dancing for the Maharaja’s in India andabout her Guru’s in Kathak and Odissi dance. Her passion for the Indian dance is infectious. Her first encounter with this dance style reminds me with my first encounter with Silvestre technique. That moment of: ‘What is this, and why does it have this effect on me?’ And the feeling of just wanting to go to India to explore this deeper is the feeling I have with Brazil. I don’t necessarily have that same feeling for Indian dance, however much I love the dancing and the aesthetic.

Rosangela Silvestre, founder of the Silvestre Technique

Rosangela Silvestre, founder of the Silvestre Technique

 

I was trying to figure out why, and was thinking that part of it might be to do with the ancient tradition of dancing for these Indian Gods and Goddesses. It’s not something that I can relate to. I wonder if it’s something that comes with time. With Silvestre, the feeling is very different, it feels like a personal experience that makes me tap into some stronger energy. That makes me connect with the Earth, Water, Air, Fire. It’s more tangible for me, but even before it was explained what the gestures meant, I experienced it, on an intuitive level rather than a conscious level. And it felt like something I needed to explore.

 

 

Spatial Projection can create an energy out in the kinesphere. The gaze can create sacret geometry this way, to show a praying to the gods.

Spatial Projection can create an energy out in the kinesphere. The gaze can create sacret geometry this way, to show a praying to the gods.

I’ve also been thinking a lot about Sacret Geometry. A topic that came up in Choreology at Laban. Laban studied quite a bit on the subject, a research that I will do once I get back from Brazil, to work towards my paper on Space Harmony. I’ve always been interested in the connection between Maths and Art, and Maths and Life. So the idea of Maths and Spirituality really interests me too. I started to think about this when I took my first Silvestre class. Somehow the geometry of the movements evokes something, it’s something about the shape that they make that links it to something more, some outer body experience. It’s the same idea that a certain tone/frequency in music (thinking of scales: A major as opposed to A minor) evokes a feeling of uplifting or of sadness/nostalgia.

 

 

Laban's 12 locations formed by the 3 planes. Scales are orders of locations located in this Icosahedron. Movement scales are created by following the order of locations.

Laban’s 12 locations formed by the 3 planes. Scales are orders of locations located in this Icosahedron. Movement scales are created by following the order of locations.

 

That’s why it’s so interesting that Laban created movement scales (an order of locations in space) that have certain properties, that in my opinion can create a feeling because of the order in which the locations are placed. No wonder he researched Egyptian culture amongst others, to understand more about Sacret Geometry.

In Colleena’s Pranam (movement ‘prayer’, meditation) that we do every morning there are certain spatial moments where Space Harmony takes place and which are directly linked to something sacred. When she prays towards the Gods, her arms go up and she sends a spatial projection out with her gaze, creating a virtual line out in the general space. Or using mudras to ‘lock’ energy, a body design is created to create energy. Direct links with geometry and spirituality. I LOVE ALL THAT STUFF!!!

Spatial Tension can be a way of creating a ball of energy. In this case, the geometry of the mudras create this spatial tention.

Spatial Tension can be a way of creating a ball of energy. In this case, the geometry of the mudras create this spatial tention.

Leave a Reply

