On a train between Zagreb and Budapest…

Hvar, Croatia

Hvar, Croatia – August 2012

1st September 2012

On the train between Zagreb and Budapest and finally decided to start writing that blog I’ve been thinking about for the past year. I have no idea if people would have an interest in reading about my random thoughts during travelling, but I just have the sudden urge to document my experiences. I think the inspiration came from my brother, who’s a traveller at heart and reading his anecdotes while cycling through Asia was truly inspiring.

Last weekend was Split Tribal Fest. I’ve always loved Croatia ever since I went there the first time in 2009, so I knew it was going to be great, but it was more than great. Dancing on the stage set up in an old Roman ruin isn’t all that bad, I must say J… And this performance was extra special to me, as it was dedicated to someone that means a lot to me. Funny thing I noticed: when you dedicate your performance to someone, it seems like all of the sudden you finally get out of your head. At least, that’s how it felt for me: I put it out there, and for once I wasn’t necessarily thinking about the audience and about my technique and about everything else that sometimes gets in the way. You just put it out there and it’s gone. Like the way you would dance in your living room, when nobody’s watching; or after a few cocktails (or is that just me?)… It felt really great to not have that pressure, like it was something bigger than me or that moment in time. It felt genuine. It makes me think about living room dancing, and how I could tap into that feeling of letting go more easily. Finding that genuine reason to be performing, and then letting it go. No excuses, no regrets.

It was great hanging out with my roommates on this trip! Thanks to Sunci for letting me be a tag along this year J After some great conversations with Colleena Shakti, I just can’t wait to go to Bali. I shall be doing an intensive with this wonderful lady during the first week of December. In the beautiful resort of Desa Seni (www.desaseni.com). I am still figuring out how to fund this trip, but up until now I have always found a way. I am sure there will be some costumes I can sell. Maybe ‘the tribal bible’ will go for a few hundred pounds on Ebay. Some things are hard to let go of, but the idea of having new experiences is way too exciting to hold onto the material stuff. It feels good to shed. Somehow still got to find a way to fund my January trip to Brazil as well… I do not want to miss out studying with Rosangela Silvestre. It’s funny how things work out. Every place I go, I am blown away by the hospitality of old and new friends. I wouldn’t be able to do this without their help by letting me stay in their space.

Edina and me, Hvar, Croatia - August 2012

And talking about hospitality, on Saturday night in Split, Edina, one of my Brighton   students that was on holiday in Croatia, made a surprise visit at the performance.     Kindly, her and her husband invited me to Hvar, a beautiful Croatian island. I love      how things just unfold while you travel. The most amazing few days in the hills in  Hvar, spent with some great people. And all I had to do was say yes to their  invitation. Awesome.

So now I am on my way to Budapest, for what will most likely be yet another amazing festival organised by the lovely Judith Virag. I am thinking of Brighton Pride Weekend, which I will miss this weekend. And I realise that I got some serious illness called The FOMO: Fear Of Missing Out. J Too bad I will have to miss my favourite weekend in Brighton, but I guess the substitute is pretty damn awesome too! Can’t wait to meet the Budapest tribal community. For the rest of the journey, I shall be dreaming of Bali and Brazil… and after chatting to Sunci, my travel buddy on this train, I think I shall be dreaming of India also… Maybe next year…

Leave a Reply

